NO PENALTY IF THE BALL OF BALL MARKER IS ACCIDENTALLY MOVED BY THE PLAYER, PARTNER, OPPONENT, CADDIES OR EQUIPMENT
The Mens and Ladies Committee have adopted a new local rule that has been introduced by the R&A and the USGA which eliminates the penalty for a golfer who accidentally causes a ball to move on the putting green. This rule is available for committees to use in golf competitions from 1 January 2017. The Cheshire Union will be adopting this local rule for all championship events, qualifying comps and international matches, and have asked that all Cheshire Clubs adopt this rule with immediate effect. It is anticipated that Rules of Golf will be amended for 2018 to accommodate this change.
“Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1 are modified as follows:
When a player’s ball lies on the putting green, there is no penalty if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved by the player, his partner, his opponent, or any of their caddies or equipment.
The moved ball or ball-marker must be replaced as provided in Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1.
This local rule applies only when the player’s ball or ball-marker lies on the putting green and any movement is accidental.”
Note: If it is determined that a player’s ball on the putting green was moved as a result of wind, water or some other natural cause such as the effects of gravity, the ball must be played as it lies from its new location. A ball-marker moved in such circumstances is replaced.